courtesy of Wikipedia

Saturday, November 8, 2008

Update: Jake to Cubs or Braves Most Likely

ESPN is reporting that the Padres want to trade Jake within a week, most likely to either the Cubs or Braves. The Dodgers remain an outside possibility.

All I can say is that if they trade Jake to L.A., I will *never* go to another Padres game again, even if someone offers me free tickets. You don't trade your best player to your main division rival -- that's just bush-league.

I still don't understand the urgency of this deal. We've got one of the top three pitchers in the NL who just re-signed a contract at below-market rates. Jake certainly isn't demanding a trade, the fans don't want him to be traded, and it's far from clear that we're going to get anything near his value in return.

You need pitching to win games. With the implosion of our bullpen, that should be obvious to the front office. Every time Jake takes the mound, he's virtually a lock for giving up three runs or fewer. Let's say you get a decent CF in return for Jake but now you're starting a pitcher who shouldn't otherwise be a starter. You may gain some runs from the upgrade in center but you'll give them up by having a mediocre fifth starter who should either be in the pen or AAA.

Let's say you get a couple of decent prospects in return. You're giving up an all-star pitcher in his prime on the hope that maybe one of the prospects will develop into an all-star pitcher at some point in the future?

Any way you slice it, this doesn't make any kind of sense.

2 comments:

HugeSDfan said...

I understand fans being upset about the Padres trading Peavy. However, isn't the baseball operation departments job to try and put a team on the field that gives them the best opportunity to win the most games possible. The Padres lost 99 games last year WITH Peavy. It's obvious that some changes needs to be made, and if the team can get three or four legitimate major league ready talents, I completely understand their desire to do so. I know many fans want to pretend like Baseball teams are not a business, however, they are and it is important that the team remains fiscally responsible.

It really just seems like whining when the fans talk about never going to Padres games again because of a Peavy trade. Let's be honest, if the tradw works out, and the team is competetive, all of these fans will be clamoring for the opportunity to get post-season tickets. Now I'm not naive and in no way am implying this team will make the play-offs next year, but the point is the same.

That said...GO PADRES...and may the front office do what gives them the best chance to win the most games next year!

pendexusa said...

Hi,

I just wanted to say that I’m a big fan of keep Peavy. I also wanted to let you guys know about Congressman Ron Paul who is running for President in 2008. If you give him a chance, you won’t regret it, thanks!

www.ronpaul2008.com

http://www.youtube.com/ronpaul2008dotcom

http://www.myspace.com/RonPaul2008

www.ronpaulforums.com